Announcement: Now accepting applications for Job Openings at the HPL.... Read More

Chapter Chat

 

Select Tuesdays at 2:30 pm at the Huron High School Tiger Union

For high school students.

 

 Teens_Reading.jpeg  Teen_Reading.jpeg

 

This teen book club meets monthly in the Tiger Union after school to discuss books that cover wide-ranging teen titles. Each month’s book can be delivered to the High School through the Tiger Book Shelf cooperation. See a librarian for more details!

 

Registration required- CLICK HERE


Upcoming Discussions:

March 12

The Vigilante Poets of Selwyn Academy by Kate Hattemer

 

Chapter_Chat_Hattemer.jpg

 

"Whip-smart dialogue and an inside look at the seedy underbelly of reality TV come together in this critically-acclaimed debut perfect for fans of Unreal, John Green, and Frank Portman.

     Witty, sarcastic Ethan and his three best friends are students at Selwyn Arts Academy, which has been hijacked by For Art’s Sake, a sleazy reality-television show. In the tradition of Ezra Pound, the foursome secretly writes and distributes a long poem to protest the show. They’re thrilled to have started a budding rebellion. 

     But the forces behind the show are craftier than they seem. The web of betrayal stretches farther than Ethan could have ever imagined, and it’s up to him, his friends, and a heroic gerbil named Baconnaise to save Selwyn" (Goodreads.com).


April 16

The Splintered Silence by Kayla Olson

 

Chapter_Chat_Splintered_Silence.jpg

 

"Lindley Hamilton has been the leader of the space station Lusca since every first-generation crew member on board, including her mother, the commander, was killed by a deadly virus.

     Lindley always assumed she’d captain the Lusca one day, but she never thought that day would come so soon. And she never thought it would be like this- struggling to survive every day, learning how to keep the Lusca running, figuring out how to communicate with Earth, making sure they don’t run out of food.

     When a member of the surviving second generation dies from symptoms that look just like the deadly virus, though, Lindley feels her world shrinking even smaller. The disease was supposed to be over; the second generation was supposed to be immune. But as more people die, Lindley must face the terrifying reality that either the virus has mutated or something worse is happening: one of their own is a killer" (Goodreads.com).


May 21

By Your Side by Kasie West

 

Chapter_Chat_West.jpg

 

"When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn't think things could get any worse. But that's before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her.

     Autumn doesn't know much about Dax except that he's trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he's not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

     Only he doesn't come. No one does.

     Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye.

     As he and Autumn at first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn's old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax's side?" (Goodreads.com).

333 Williams St., Huron, Ohio 44839 | (419) 433-5009
Monday - Thursday: 9 am - 8:30 pm | Friday - Saturday: 9 am - 5 pm | Sunday: 1 pm - 5 pm

© 2019 Huron Public Library. All rights reserved.
Powered by PDS eCMSPRO